Blogging for Music! Nirvana – In Utero

Hello, and a Happy New Year to you all! I hope everyone had a great celebration and isn’t feeling the after-effects too much!

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’ve not been very good with my blogging recently. In 2014 I am going to change that, and I have come up with a plan.

I’m a big lover of music, something that I’ve barely touched on in my blog yet. So this year I have decided to work my way through my music collection and write short reviews of them all. Hopefully this will get me blogging regularly again, and someone will find this interesting (including me, cos if I don’t it’s gonna be an awful experience!!)

I’ll start with the album that changed my tastes in music, and showed me that music did exist outside of the realms of Michael Jackson. Nirvana – In Utero.

in utero

Nirvana – In Utero

In Utero is the third and final studio album of the three piece grunge band, Nirvana, and on getting a copy of this on tape from my friend at junior school it changed my musical horizons forever. Gone from my mind was the spangly pop catchiness of Michael Jackson, and into my life came a never-ending trail of guitar bands and angst.

I will admit here, that like many others who were teenagers in the 90’s, that Nirvana were my favourite band for years. Unfortunately, being only 12 when he died and far too young to be allowed to go to a concert, I never had the pleasure of seeing them live.

To me, In Utero seems almost like a compromise between Nirvana’s other two albums. It contains much of the polish and pop styling evident in the breakthrough album “Nevermind” which can be seen in the ever catchy “All Apologies” and “Heart Shaped Box” which were both successful singles. Kurt Cobain’s anguished vocals and the all out guitar aggression in “Rape Me” and  “Milk It” are more reminiscent of their raw, punky debut album “Bleach.” It’s as if Nirvana had found the balance that really worked for them, and clearly for the millions of people that bought this album. From start to finish, In Utero is awash with whiny but tuneful guitars, driven and powerful drum beats and spades of emotional and catchy lyrics.

A feature of all Nirvana albums for me are the powerful lyrics. Kurt Cobain had a way with words that few others do, and lyrics like “I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black” from the love song “Heart Shaped Box” are lyrics you will always remember. The line “I tried hard to have a father, but instead I had a dad” from “Serve the Servants” gives you an insight into where much of the angst and emotion that you find in a Nirvana record comes from. My personal favourite however, is from “Pennyroyal Tea.” I don’t really know why, but for years afterwards I was incapable of calling anyone a liar, they were always “a liar and a thief.”

Anyway, if you’re a fan of angst-driven, raw, melodic guitar noise, you won’t go far wrong by listening to “In Utero.” This album is likely to stay one of my favourites for all of time, partly in thanks for giving me a gentle nudge towards the world of heavy metal which makes up a large portion of my music collection.

My Highlight: Nirvana – Rape Me

Track List:

  1. Serve the Servants
  2. Scentless Apprentice
  3. Heart-Shaped Box
  4. Rape Me
  5. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle
  6. Dumb
  7. Very Ape
  8. Milk It
  9. Pennyroyal Tea
  10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
  11. tourette’s
  12. All Apologies
  13. Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip